Municipal Building
90 N. West St., Spencer, IN 47460
Phone: (812) 829-3213
Fax: (812) 829-1567

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday
8:30 am – 4:30 pm
(closed 12:00-1:00 pm for lunch)
8:30 am – 12:00 pm


Town Council Members

President Jon Stantz
Vice President Dean Bruce
Council Member Cynthia Hyde

The Town of Spencer is governed by a three member Town Council that is elected every four years, on the off election year preceding a presidential election year. The current council members are President Jon Stantz , Vice President Dean Bruce, Council Member Cynthia Hyde.

The finances and documents for the town are the responsibility of the Clerk-Treasurer who is elected at the same time as the Town Council and also serves a four year term. Cheryl Moke is the current Clerk-Treasurer. She also provides financial and clerical duties for the Spencer Sewer Department, and the Owen Valley Fire Territory whose finances and books are kept separately.

The Spencer Clerk-Treasurer is assisted in her duties by Tami Snodgrass, whose duties are mainly directed toward the Sewer Department, doing the billing and payment receipts, but she also serves as a valuable backup to the Clerk-Treasurer in all of her other duties.


There are four main departments of the Town of Spencer.

Street Department, Larry Parrish, Street Superintendent
Hours: M-F, 6am-4pm
Phone: (812) 829-2384

Sewer Department, John Hodge, Sewer Plant Superintendent
Hours: M-F, 7am-3:30pm
Phone: (812) 829-2195

Police Department, Richard Foutch
90 N. West St, Spencer, IN 47460 (Located at the east end of the Municipal Building)
Phone: (812) 829-3932

Spencer/Owen County Building Department
Hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 8:30am-9:30am and by appointment
86 E. Market Street, Spencer, IN 47460
Phone: (812) 829-5017
Fax: (812) 829-5044

Boards, Committees and Commissions

Spencer Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA)
Daniel Browning
Pat Powell
Lew Moke

Spencer Plan Commission
Jack Simmerman
Lawrence Hunter
Daniel Browning
Shelley Edwards
Tony Stevens
Patrick Day

Spencer Parks & Recreation Committee
Barbara Winders
Millie Ranard
Carol Reynolds
Tammy Pate

Spencer Tree Committee
Mike Hammond
Lisa Stantz
Jon Stantz, Spencer Town Board
Larry Parrish, Spencer Street Superintendant
Barb Winders, Spencer Parks and Recreation Committee member

Owen Valley Fire Territory
Owen Valley Fire Department
Chief Lee Freeman
Phone: (812)829-1270

Owen Valley Fire Territory Board
Meetings: 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 pm
Owen Valley Fire Department, Walnut St. in Spencer, IN