close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Town Government


Municipal Building
90 N. West St., Spencer, IN 47460
Phone: (812) 829-3213
Fax: (812) 829-1567

Monday thru Friday
8:30 am – 4:30 pm
(closed 12:00-1:00 pm for lunch)
8:30 am – 12:00 pm
Saturday and Sunday

Town of Spencer
Town Council
The Town of Spencer is governed by a three-member council that is elected every four years, on the off-election year preceding a presidential election year. The current council members are:
President: Mike Spinks
Vice President: Jon Stantz
Council Member: Evan McKalip

The finances and documents for the town are the responsibility of the Clerk-Treasurer who is elected at the same time as the Town Council and also serves a four-year term. Cheryl Moke is the current Clerk-Treasurer. She also provides financial and clerical duties for the Spencer Sewer Department, and the Owen Valley Fire Territory whose finances and books are kept separately.

The Spencer Clerk-Treasurer is assisted in her duties by Administrative Assistant, Anita Kinnick, whose duties are mainly directed toward the Sewer Department, and Deputy-Clerk, Heather Barnett, whose duties are directed toward Permit Applications and Payroll.

Human Resources & Facilities

The role of the Town of Spencer's Human Resources and Facilities Manager is maintaining a healthy work environment, onboarding and offboarding employees, and maintaining/applying for grants. They also handle public issues and complaints, addressing the needs of the municipalities and the town, all while acting as a liaison for the Spencer Town Council. The current HR and Facilities Manager is Hunter Stogsdill.


There are four main departments of the Town of Spencer.

Street Department, Tony Floyd, Street Superintendent
Hours: M-F, 6:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: (812) 829-2384

Sewer Department, Ryan Klaassen, Interim Wastewater Plant Superintendent
Hours: M-F, 7:00 am - 3:30 pm
Phone: (812) 829-2195

Police Department, Richard Foutch
80 N. West St, Spencer, IN 47460 (Located on the Southwest side of the Municipal Building)
Phone: (812) 829-3932

Spencer Building Department
Hours: M-F, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm ; Wednesday 8:30 am - 12:00 pm
Phone: (812) 829-3213
Fax: (812) 829-1567
To schedule an appointment, please send an email here, or call (812) 829-3213.

Boards, Committees and Commissions

Spencer Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA)
Email: [email protected]

Spencer Plan Commission
Email: [email protected]

Spencer Parks & Recreation Committee
Email: [email protected]

Owen Valley Fire Territory
Owen Valley Fire Department
Chief Lee Freeman
Phone: (812)829-1270

Owen Valley Fire Territory Board
Meetings: 2nd Monday of each month at 6:00 pm
Owen Valley Fire Department, Walnut St. in Spencer, IN